How to Auto Delete Your YouTube History

YouTube allows users to set Auto delete YouTube browsing history. Viewers can secure video data history on Google account Settings. YouTube feature on Google account to set automatically delete your history. Deleting data of your activity on the browser and App. Similarly, Google allows users previously to enable automatically delete tool for Web & App Activity and Location History. However, you can now enjoy a similar feature for YouTube.

By default, your data is stored forever, but the users receiving three options from Google. When they reach the period of saving their YouTube data and after every three or Eighteen months data erase by the Google Servers.

Let’s scroll down to learn some important information regarding how to automatically delete your YouTube history via your computer and mobile app or tablet.

Auto Delete History from YouTube

You can start auto delete history features directly from any smartphone. Google enables the smartphone feature due to the fact that more than 50% of viewership is from smartphones. However, you can follow the steps from YouTube using PC and YouTube App.

Auto Delete History from YouTube Mobile Settings

Here is the step to enable auto delete history from YouTube App on your mobile device.

  1. Open your Mobile Phone Settings option
  2. Tap on Google within Smartphone Settings
  3. Select the Google Account
  4. Tap the Data and Personalization tab
  5. Select the YouTube History
  6. The tap on Manage Activity option
  7. You will redirect another web page that navigates on My Google Activity page
  8. You will see that your YouTube History is on By default. If you want to change then tap on Choose to delete automatically option
  9. Choose one option among the below three options and type the Next button
    • Delete history by default when done manually
    • You can change the setting to Delete History older than 18 months
    • Delete history older than three months
  10. Finally, Confirm your process. An option will give to you by Google to delete immediately your history on YouTube.

YouTube auto delete history steps (in-pictures)

To delete history using YouTube app on your smartphone

  1. Open YouTube on your smartphone and tap on the menu then scroll to Settings
  2. Go to your Google account services and Preferences settings
  3. Tap on Google Account to visit Google Account info, security and personalization.
  4. Tap on data and personalization tab
  5. On the activity controls page, tap the YouTube history tools to explore the options.
  6. On Activity control page, tap on the Manager Activity
  7. Then tap on Choose to delete automatically
  8. There are three options. Keep until I delete manually, Keep for 18 months, and Keep for 3 months. Choose the option then tap on Next button.
  9. Confirm your option and preference
Settings Option YouTube App
Settings Option YouTube App
Your Google account Services & Preferences
Your Google account Services & Preferences
Google Account Settings
Google Account Settings
Data & Personalization
Data & Personalization
Activity Controls and YouTube History
Activity Controls and YouTube History
Manage Activity of YouTube history
Manage Activity of YouTube history
Choose to Delete Automatically YouTube
Manage Activity of YouTube history
Choose duration of auto delete history
Choose the duration of auto delete history
Confirm and Auto delete history from YouTube activity control
Confirm and Auto delete history from YouTube activity control

Auto Delete History from YouTube App on Smartphone

You can start to set auto delete history from YouTube App using your smartphone. Open your YouTube app on any smartphone and follow the instructions below.

  1. Open your YouTube App on your Smartphone
  2. Then select your Account avatar in the app top right corner
  3. Tap the Settings option
  4. Scroll down to tap the History & Privacy option
  5. Select the Manage All Activity option from the History &  Privacy section
  6. Next, you will redirect to My Activity page with your new page browser
  7. Scroll down to tap on Choose to delete automatically option and all the previously watched YouTube videos available in a list below
  8. Choose one option among the below three options and type the Next button
    • Delete history by default when done manually
    • You can change the setting to Delete History older than 18 months
    • Delete history older than three months
  9. Tap to Confirm your preference to keep your activity as per the above-selected options
Youtube app and Avatar

YouTube App profile icon to access Settings.

History & Privacy

From Settings > go to History and Privacy.

Manage all activity to Auto delete

Tap on Manage all activity to explore options of auto delete history from YouTube activity.

Automatically Delete History from YouTube My Google Activity

To start your YouTube history automatically delete from the Computer or Smartphone browser. First, you have to make sure that you already signed in to your Google account which is associated with your YouTube account.

Method # 1st:

Here are the following steps to delete the history from YouTube.

  1. If you already signed in then Click My Google Activity
  2. Click the Go to your YouTube History option
  3. Click the Choose to Delete Automatically option
  4. Choose how long to keep your YouTube History and choose one of the three options
  5. Confirm your preference to keep your activity
Go to your Youtube History

My Google Activity, including YouTube product history.

Choose to Auto delete or  delete automatically

From YouTube product activity, choose to delete automatically.

Method # 2nd

An alternative way to delete the history from YouTube with help My Google activity link in the following steps below

  1. Visit the My Google Activity Website
  2. Click the Activity Controls option from the left side panel of your screen
  3. Select the Manage activity from the YouTube History section
  4. Click to Choose to Delete automatically
  5. Then choose one option among the three options and then Next button
    • Delete history by default when done manually
    • You can change the setting to Delete History older than 18 months
    • Delete history older than three months
  6. Tap to Confirm your selection and YouTube will show some videos. For example that will be deleted from your account history.
Activity contorls

The Google account activity controls including other products to configure.

Manage Activity and Auto Delete

Manage Activity options allows you to set your history preference for YouTube product.

Just a video to watch privately

If you are want to view only few videos in private, it is suggested to open its incognito mode. You can use browser private mode or YouTube incognito mode. However, using incognito mode in private browser, make sure you are not signed in to Google account.

Frequent Questions – YouTube Delete History

Do I need to set auto-delete on every device?

No, you need to set once on any device and similar settings will work on all your devices.

What about more than one account on a single device?

For more than one account, you need to set the auto-delete option on both accounts.

Is incognito mode on YouTube is saving my browsing history?

No, using YouTube on incognito mode, your activity and browsing data not adding to your account.

What are the benefits to keep YouTube browsing data

YouTube is suggesting you videos on your home screen based on the previous interest. And suggest you similar videos. However, you need to keep your history on the server to help to show relevant videos.

Are there different settings for different devices?

No, all the settings count against Google count. However, on different devices, you follow the same settings with different view only.

For how long I can keep YouTube history?

You can keep until you want to delete it manually. In other words, you can keep it forever.

What is the available duration for automatically delete YouTube history?

There are three options. 1 Keep it forever. 2 Delete after three months. 3 Delete after 18 months.

Is Google Account settings need to follow?

Yes, the YouTube account must associate with your Google Account.

In conclusion, you choose to set delete your YouTube history automatically. Instead of manually following your account activity. Furthermore, you can set the duration to follow auto delete history. However, the setup on one device will follow all on your devices. After that, you don’t need to set each device separately.

Read More:

By Umar Ali

Umar Ali is a passionate content writer. He feeds many blogs with his unique content. He loves creating contents tutorial content. And contribute many guest articles on different websites.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *