How to Delete Your Gmail Account Without Deleting Your Google Account

Delete Gmail Services from Google Account
Delete Gmail Services from Google Account

Do you know how to delete your Gmail Account without deleting your Google Account? Yes, you can easily delete your Gmail account. There are several reasons for deleting your Gmail maybe as they attract hackers and spam or you have multiple accounts or may you prefer a different email service. 

Therefore, If you want to delete that embarrassing email username or Gmail account without touching Google account you make years ago. Then it is easy to move on from your account. After the deletions of your Gmail account permanent and through the process all your account settings and emails will be erased. Then you will unable to send or receive an email on the deleted Gmail address. The email address will not available for other users to use in the future.

Remember that the following steps are taking you to delete Gmail services but now Google Account. To Delete Google Account permanently, you can follow the steps here on how to Delete Google Account.

Backup Your Gmail and Google Account Data and Update Email Address

Once you delete your Gmail, you lose access to your email inbox, and all you have received and sent, and that email address will be disabled. All of the emails related to the email address will be deleted in two business days.

Before you delete your Gmail account permanently you should update your email address on all-important accounts (like your bank account). It will be not possible to recover the account using a deleted Gmail address.

When you delete your Gmail account, you will still be able to log in to your Google account an alternative email address.

Before going to start, go to Google Takeout to safely download the entire data from your Gmail and Google Account. Depending on how much you have stored, this might take some time.

How to delete your Gmail Account Permanently

Yes, if you want to delete your Gmail account. Whatever the reason then follow the instruction below:

  1. Open your Gmail account
  2. Click on the Google Apps on the right side
  3. Then click Google Account Settings
  4. Go to the Data & Personalization or Privacy & Personalization
  5. Scroll down the Download Delete or Make a plan section
  6. Then click on Delete a Service option and then enter your Account password to log in
  7. Next click on the Delete a Service (If you want to download your Data then click on the Download Data option
  8. Click on the Delete icon next to Gmail On the “Delete a Google Service” page
  9. Enter your Alternate Email Address and you will require this email to continue deleting your account
  10. After that, click on the Send Verification Email
  11. In the popup, click Got it
  12. Next, visit the inbox for the email address you just provided, and find for a new email with the title “Gmail Deletion Confirmation”
  13. Then click on the Deletion link in the email
  14. Continue the deletion then login to the Gmail account
  15. Then click in the box Yes, I want to delete the (example@gmail.com)
  16. Finally, click on the Delete Gmail option then confirm to press the Done option
Open Gmail, Click Google Apps and Account Settings
Open Gmail, Click Google Apps and Account Settings
Data Personalization or Privacy and Personalization
Data Personalization or Privacy and Personalization

On My Account of Google account page, click on the Manage your data & Personalization. Furthermore, to click on Data & Personalization section to proceed to Delete a service on your account.

Delete a Service or Your Account
Delete a Service or Your Account

Delete a Google Service section need user confirmation to enter their Google Account password. The retyping of the user password to ensure the current owner of the account is removing the any service.

Delete a Google Service
Delete a Google Service
Enter Your Account Password and Click Next option Delete Gmail Account
Enter Your Account Password and Click Next option
Download Data and Click Trash icon of Gmail and Delete Gmail account
Download Data and Click Trash icon of Gmail

Prior to deleting a service from Google Account, the user has access to takeout data. Take out data let the user download service data prior to deleting it from the Google servers. Usually, it is recommending to all user to have offline copy of Google services prior to deleting it permanently.

Enter Your Email and Click Send Verification Email
Enter Your Email and Click Send Verification Email

After a user deletes a Gmail service from Google Account, the Gmail address and inbox is not accessible. However, other services associated with the account are still usable.

Can I Access My Google Account After the Deletion of Gmail?

Yes, you can access your Google account, after the deletion of a Gmail account. It will not delete the complete Google account the email address is associated with. You can still keep using all other Google account services. For instance, Google Play, your calendar, Google Drive, YouTube, and etc, accounts.  The process is not too hard, but the Gmail will ask for the email address and password to login to the Google Account in the future. The way of deleting is pretty and straightforward.

How to Delete Others Gmail Account

If you want to delete your School, Work or other group’s Gmail account. As per the Google Account Help you need to contact your administrator. According to the help, he is the owner of your Work or School Gmail account and he can remove it.

How to delete your Google Account?

Yes, you can delete your Google account under the Delete a service or your account by choosing the Delete Google Account and Data to remove your complete Google account. When you delete your Google account, then it will remove all your search history, AdWords, Adsense, Google Docs, and Google Drive as well as other Google services.

What Happens to the Emails in the Deleted Gmail Account?

Whenever you delete your Gmail account then all your messages will be removed permanently. You will be unable to access them again in Gmail. However, you can download a copy, and then you will use these emails either using an Email program or using Google Takeout.

Note: If you are using IMAP to access Gmail to your email program, the messages will be saved in a local folder. Therefore, the folders synchronized and emails on the server with deleted Gmail account will be removed.

What Happens to Emails Sent to My Deleted Gmail Address?

If the users are sending an email to your old email address. They will receive back a delivery failure message. You must need to announce an alternate old address or new to the contacts you care most about.

How to Quickly Delete Your Gmail Account Permanently?

Yes, you can delete your Gmail account permanently and quickly from the Google account Settings. You will need to access Delete a Google service and click on the Delete a service and then click on the Trash folder beside the Gmail. For more detail, you will go through the above-given process.

How do I permanently delete my Gmail account?

If you want to delete your Gmail account permanently. Therefore, you will need to follow the above 15 steps with screenshots of how to delete your Gmail account one by one. Therefore, your account will be permanently deleted.

Read More:

Published
Categorized as Gmail, HowTo

By Umar Ali

Umar Ali is a passionate content writer. He feeds many blogs with his unique content. He loves creating contents tutorial content. And contribute many guest articles on different websites.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.